Engagement to GDS posts : Circle/State-Wise List of Local Language

Engagement to GDS posts : Circle/State-Wise List of Local Language 

No. 17-11/2019-GDS
Government of India
Ministry of Communications
Department of Posts
(GDS Section)
Dak Bhawan, Sansad Marg
New Delhi – 110001
Dated: 04.06.2019
Office Memorandum

Subject :
Provision of Local Language for engagement to Gramin Dak Sevak

I am directed to refer to this Directorate letter No. 17-02/2018-GDS dated
08.03.2019 wherein para II (ii) of the orders, provision of local language
for engagement to posts GDS was prescribed.

References have been received from Circles regarding facing of problems due
to multiple languages decided vide Department of Posts order
No.17-02/2018-GDS dated 08.03.2019. Taking into consideration the problems
being faced by the Circles and request for identifying only a single Local
language instead of multiple local languages, the following modification
has been approved by the Competent Authority:-

Read also :  ‘Emergency’ leave for a maximum of 5 days in a calendar year for all categories of Gramin Dak Sevaks (GDS) - Implementation of approved recommendations of Kamlesh Chandra Committee

Circle/State-Wise List of Local Language for engagement to Gramin Dak
Sevak Posts

Sl.No. Name of Circle Name of State / Union Territory covered under Postal
Local language as for the Postal Circle
1. Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh and Yanam Telugu
2. Assam Assam (Excluding Three Dists of Barak Valley and Bodoland
Territorial Council Areas)
Three Dists of Barak Valley Bengali
Bodo land Territorial Council Areas Bodo
3. Bihar Bihar Hindi
4. Chhattisgarh Chhattisgarh Hindi
5. Delhi Delhi Hindi
6. Gujrat Gujarat Gujarati
Dadra Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu
7. Haryana Haryana Hindi
8. Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Hindi
9. J&KCircle J&K Urdu/Hindi
10. Jharkhand Jharkhand Hindi
11. Karnataka Karnataka Kannada
12. Kerala Kerala, Lakshadeep and Mahe Malayalam
13. Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Hindi
14. Maharastra Maharastra Marathi
Goa Konkani
15. North East Arunachal Pradesh Hindi/Enghish
Manipur Manipuri
Meghalaya Hindi/Enghish
Mizoram Mizo
Nagaland Hindi/Enghish
Tripura Bengali
16. Odisha Odisha Odia
17. Punjab & Chandigarh Punjab Punjabi
Chandigarh Hindi/Enghish
18. Rajasthan Rajasthan Hindi
19. Tamilnadu Tamilnadu Tamil
Puducherry(Excluding Mahe and Yanam) Tamil
20. Telangana Telangana Telugu
21. Uttar Pradesh Uttar Pradesh Hindi
22. Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Hindi
23. West Bengal West Bengal Bengali
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Hindi/Enghish
Sikkim Nepali
Read also :  CGHS - Delegation of powers to HOD - Enhancement of ceiling rate from 2 lakh to 5 lakhs

4 This issues with the approval of Competent Authority

(SB Vyavahare)
Assistant Director General (GDS/PCC)
Tele No. 011-23096629


Source: Click for signed PDF [Facebook login required]